On Friday the 30th of August, the Evaluation Committee of the 2nd Edition of the Energy Awareness Awards (EAA) met at the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) offices in Beirut to review and evaluate all applications and choose the winners based on 4 criteria: Originality/ Innovation and added value impact, Sustainability scale up and replicability, Collaborations and Synergies, and Marketability (for projects presented under innovation and entrepreneurship).

The Committee is composed of: Mrs. Celine Moyroud, the Resident Representative of UNDP Lebanon, Dr. Toni Issa, the President of IPT Energy Center (IPTEC), Mr. Charles Arbid, the President of the Economic and Social Council in Lebanon, Mr. Pierre Khoury, The General Director of the Lebanese Center for Energy Conservation (LCEC) – Ministry of Energy and Water, and Mrs. Ray Bassil, UNDP Goodwill Ambassador for Youth and Gender, in addition to 3 technical members.

The meeting began with a presentation by UNDP team about the projects under the themes of renewable energy, energy efficiency and conservation, mitigation of climate change and innovation in energy.

Four winners were chosen of each of the following categories:

  • Private Sector
  •  Academia
  • Youth Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Local Government

The awards will be distributed during an event that will be held on September 27, under the patronage of H.E Minister of Energy and Water Nada Boustani Khoury as part of the International Beirut Energy Forum (IBEF 2019).

Icon of SDG 07

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Lebanon 
Go to UNDP Global